30 Inspirational, Motivational and Feel Good Songs (Part 1)

image

From hip hop to pop, rock to soul, reggae to R&B, these songs will make you thoughtful of the human condition and its social problems. I surely believe that this list contains songs that (will) motivate you to win and inspire you to do better. Some of the songs are just feel good music that (will) get you smiling in good times and (hopefully) in your hard times. I believe that you have ever listened to some or even all of them, and your favourite(s) might be here too. So without much ado, here is the list and some lyrics/quotations from each song!

DISCLAIMER: This is not a ‘top-list’ and the numbering doesn’t indicate any order!

1. Eye of The Tiger – Survivor

“Don’t lose your grip on the dreams of the past / You must fight just to keep them alive”

This song is just the perfect one for all the dreamers out here…and aren’t we all dreamers? Give it an ear, it’s the perfect energizer!

2. Hate Me Now – Nas (Ft. P. Diddy)

“Hell or the pearly gates; I was destined to come / Predicted, blame God, he blew breath in my lungs”

This is the type of song to make you keep going despite being flooded with negativity from people. So much hate around you for having done what they couldn’t/can’t do? This is the perfect anthem.

3. You Raise Me Up – Josh Groban

“You raise me up, so I can stand on mountains; / You raised me up to walk on stormy seas; / I am strong when I am on your shoulders; / You raise me up to more than I can be”

The beloved praise song for believers, if you’re one, you probably know it!

4. The World’s Greatest – R. Kelly

“I’m that star up in the sky / I’m that mountain peak up high / Hey, I made it / I’m the world’s greatest”

A good-vibes-only song to be sung as a self-appreciative anthem.

5. Awake and Alive – Skillet

“I’m at war with the world cause I / Ain’t never gonna sell my soul / I’ve already made up my mind / No matter what I can’t be bought or sold”

A surer show of being strong and steadfast in what one believes. All my Christians, this is the anthem.

6. Lose Yourself – Eminem

“Look, if you had, one shot, or one opportunity, to seize everything you ever wanted, in one moment – would you capture it, or just let it slip?”

Agitated and energised as ever, Em goes hard in this song to paint a picture of a dream chaser, an opportunist. You don’t have to wait for tomorrow, grab any chance you get and do your best to be who you want to be in life!

7. What A Wonderful World – Louis Armstrong

“The colors of the rainbow, / So pretty in the sky. / Are also on the faces, / Of people going by, / I see friends shaking hands. / Saying, “How do you do?” / They’re really saying, “I love you”.”

A legendary feel good song that has stood the taste of time! It reminds you of the beautiful world we live in. Through this song you get to start appreciating your surrounding – nature, people etc. I believe you’ve ever heard this song, I really do!

8. Heal The World – Michael Jackson

“There’s A Place In Your Heart / And I Know That It Is Love / And This Place Could Be Much Brighter Than Tomorrow / And If You Really Try / You’ll Find There’s No Need To Cry / In This Place You’ll Feel / There’s No Hurt Or Sorrow”

You could be a teen but still know this song’s lyrics A to Z! It’s everywhere! Through this song MJ touches your caring and loving side as he paints a clear picture of the social problems facing the world m, and he appeals to you and me to reach out and touch a soul, to help make the world a wonderful place for each and every person.

9. Get Up, Stand Up – Bob Marley and the Wailers

“Most people think, Great God will come from the skies, take away everything and make everybody feel high. But if you know what life is worth, you will look for yours on earth: and now you see the light, you stand up for your rights.”

The quote from the song explains it all – you have to fight for your life, never settle for the petty life others pile up on you, stand up for your rights!

10. Don’t Stop Believing – Journey

“Some will win / Some will lose / some were born to sing the blues / Oh, the movie never ends / it goes on, and on, and on, and on”

This song fires into you the will to succeed by never giving up on your dreams…keep dreaming and pursue that passion!

11. Walking On Sunshine – Katrina and the Waves

“Now I’m walking on sunshine, whoa / I’m walking on sunshine, whoa / I’m walking on sunshine, whoa / And don’t it feel good / Hey, all right now / And don’t it feel good /Hey, yeah”

You know those times when you’re sure that you posses the better significant other or things you used to just think you had? This feel good jam is for those moments!

12. Hall Of Fame – The Script (Ft Will.I.Am)

“You can go the distance / You can run the mile / You can walk straight through hell with a smile”

This song stands as a reminder to tell you that anything you set your mind to is possible – you can be the greatest in whatever you do!

13. The Point Of No Return – Immortal Technique

“This is the point from which I will die and succeed / Living the struggle, I know I’m alive when I bleed”

Sometimes you reach a point in your life where you don’t have to look back but keep going despite whatever comes your way. This song encourages you not to go back but stay focused!

14. Each Tear – Mary J. Blige (Ft. Jay Sean)

“In each tear / There’s a lesson, / Make you wiser than before / Makes you stronger than you know”

There’s a light at the end of the tunnel. That’s what the song says; look beyond the problems you’re facing, there’s a lesson to be learnt.

15. Titanium – David Guetta (Ft. Sia)

“You shoot me down but I won’t fall / I am titanium”

A dare to every person/obstacle that tries to bring you down. This is the type of song to say “hey, bring it on! I’m not afraid!”

Look out for the second installment to be posted on Tuesday, next week! Have a wonderful weekend!

That’s it, really.

•••••

Copyright © Victor Zuze Davies 2017

All Rights Reserved.

9 thoughts on “30 Inspirational, Motivational and Feel Good Songs (Part 1)

  1. Pingback: 30 Inspirational, Motivational and Feel Good Songs (Part 2) | Victor Writes Everything

Leave a Reply

